Gambian Talent

Njogu Touray, a Gambian artist, had some of the most beautiful canvas paintings I have seen, and he even inspired me to start doodling during my free time. I enjoyed his work so much that I even bought a painting to bring home to my family. When I went to see him, we brought along a boy who lived in our compound, Dembo. Dembo also has a lot of talent and has been painting the entire outside wall of the library and along the compound wall. Dembo was extremely inspired by seeing Njogu’s work, and it was really exciting to see Dembo’s reaction to the fantastic work of a talented Gambian artist. I feel very fortunate to have a piece of his work, and I believe that his work has the potential to be known around the whole world. I thank him for allowing me into his studio and showing me everything he has done. Njogu also goes out into the deep villages, where art is not very common, and he will paint murals on the walls to bring light and beauty to otherwise dark and gloomy cement walls.

Njogu's studio by "The Big Tree."
Njogu’s studio by “The Big Tree.”
My favorite out of Njogu's work that I have seen.
My favorite out of Njogu’s work that I have seen.
Dembo's beautiful work at Starfish International!
Dembo’s beautiful work at Starfish International!

Leave a comment